Congratulations to the Inaugural HerStory Empowers 2016 Finalists -#‎6under40

Thank you to all our sponsors, partners, attendees and guest speakers who made last night extra special.

CRIMINAL JUSTICE Nola Kesia Brantley-Harris
HEALTH Rochelle Pardue-Okimoto
TECHNOLOGY Trawets Aifala 
EDUCATION Sally Ms President Nuamah - Chicago

To learn more about BWOPA/TILE visit
#‎dwjfellows #‎blackwomenlead #‎blackgirlmagic #‎bwopagirl
#‎bwopaoakberk #‎bwopacoco #‎bwopafresno #‎bwopastocktontracy#‎bwopahayward #‎bwopasf #‎bwopasacto

* Stay tuned for more from this group of breakthrough leaders | changemakers.

Finalists received special commendations from Congresswoman Barbara Lee, Assemblymember Rob Bonta, Assemblymember Tony Thurmond, Alameda County Supervisor Keith Carson + Mayor Libby Schaaf + BWOPA/TILE's new Black Women Lead Racerback TShirt

+ $100 Sephora Gift Certificate ~ thank you Marketing Director Celessa Baker (& Chuck Baker#‎100BM)

Thank our partners - who help make the event possible!
+ Tom/Treva/Alicia PG&E 

+ Nyeisha DeWitt, Oakland Natives Give Back 

+ Cathy D. Adams, CDA Consulting / Powerful Women of the Bay

+ Kimberly Mayfield Lynch, Holy Names University


+ Anna Nti Asare, Photographer Competing to Raise Support (PCTRS)

+ Alan Dones + Bernida Reagan + Raymond Lankford + Lena Robinson + Yolanda Smith + Surlene Grant + Nicole Garay + Jessica Anderson + Jenn Bowman + Rita Forte + Ceslee Montgomery + Yong Chan Miller + Janina JPosh Aubry

Muchas gracious to my sis Chef Rene, Blackberry Soul & team for their scrumptious delicious hors d'oeuvres & desserts in the beautifully appointed honorees VIP reception.

Shout/Out to the powerhouse changemaker and our event DJ and new San Jose sis "Shugga Shay" - thank you for bringing your special sauce!

Big thanks to Geoffrey Pete | Geoffrey's Inner Circle - perfect venue to celebrate our blackgirlmagic!

Sincere thanks to Oakland City Council President Lynette Gibson McElhaney and Elevate Your Now Author Kysha Mitchell - presentations slayed & empowered us all!

Thank You #‎Dezie Woods-Jones -- #‎youstartedit

Proceeds benefits the DWJ public policy fellows and their year long work focusing on policy issues in health, education, criminal justice and economic security.

DWJ Fellows: Fatima Alleyne + Rachel Benjamin + Garbralle Conroe + 
Brittani Daniels + Terra Doby + Abigail Mariam + Amelia Neal + Tamisha Walker
+ Nicole Henderson + Erica Duggan + Ashley Chambers + Chrystal Ellis + Delthia Mckinney + Camile Duria + Alegra Thomas + Samara Rivers + Simone Thelemaque + Shahidah Lacy + Charlette Viney

Gorgeous photos by Jazmyne W. Jones - BWOPA/TILE Leadership University Cohort 2011. Bishop O'Dowd grad 2015 * Mentee, Nana 510Media * College student @ California College of the Arts.

















Showing 1 reaction

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • Debora Boutte'
    commented 2016-06-16 22:52:36 -0700
    It looks like the Nominee has to be under 40 is that right? If so, is there a similar award with no age limit or over 40?